These are a few of my favorite things: Part 2

IMG_2556

As you know by now, I have 1. a shopping problem and 2. an addiction to all things beauty. In case you missed the first edition of this series, click here. As always, I’ve thrown in makeup, body, skin care, basically all kinds of beauty products in here. So let’s get to it!

I think as I get older, I start to gravitate towards skin products over makeup products. Gotta prevent premature wrinkles, if you know what I mean. I’ve also become more conscious of the ingredients in all beauty products. Hence the shift to natural deodorant. Price wise, I have a mix of splurge and steal (as always). Some were deals, some were from beauty boxes, all of them thoroughly vetted.

IMG_2558

Kristin Ess Weightless Shine Leave-in Conditioner ($10)

 

Only one hair product in this edition, but I promise it doesn’t disappoint. You may know Kristin Ess as the hairstylist to the stars! AKA Lucy Hale, Lauren Conrad, etc. Her semi-new hair care line at Target is affordable while still feeling luxurious AF. This Weightless Shine Leave-in Conditioner is my go-to after showers. Not only does it smell good, but it detangles my hair in a jiffy and gives my hair great shine. Honestly, Kristin Ess needs to bottle this scent into fragrance so I can wear it all year long. Do I even need to add that it’s a steal?

 

IMG_2557

The Ordinary’s Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% ($5.90), Freeman’s Apple Cider Vinegar Mask ($4.29), Glossier’s Invisible Shield ($34)

 

You know what they say, skin is in! Go ahead and splurge on makeup and apply layer after layer, but what good is that if you don’t have a solid foundation? (Insert house foundation joke here) I started using all three of these products less than a month ago, but they were instantly my favorites.

I’m a sufferer of adult acne (even if sometimes I forget that I’m an adult). Nothing cystic, but pimples here and there and bad breakouts closer to my period or induced by stress. Nothing has seriously helped me battle the acne, even with consistent skin routines. I’ve been using The Ordinary’s Niacinamide 10% + Zine 1% for the past month and I’ve noticed that the bumps are gone and I get a major breakout here and there, but nothing like before. If you’ve never heard of the Ordinary’s skin products, you’re seriously missing out. It sounds super complicated and scientific, but all it takes is a little reading. For example, what is niacinamide? No clue. But when you read the product description, you’ll know that this concoction is a high-strength vitamin and mineral blemish formula. AKA it’s there to stop the acne. Did I mention this is a steal product too?

Freeman’s face masks are the best, no questions asked. They are so cheap and they actually work! They’ve won Allure Best of Beauty Awards and countless others for a reason. This Apple Cider Vinegar mask is a face mask, a cleanser, a scrub, and a toner! All in one! I really like how gentle it is on my skin, unlike some scrubs. In all honesty, I’ve only used it once, but that’s all I needed to know. It left my skin feeling so soft and bright and even, and just perfect.

You already know I own almost every Glossier product and I rave about every. single. one. So this one should be no different. Alongside the countless hundreds of thousands of Glossier fans, I’ve always wondered/begged them for an SPF product. We all know we should be using SPF daily, so why weren’t they making one for us? Well, now we know why. Apparently, this product has been in the works for years, they were continuously testing and retesting new versions until they created this bad boy: Invisible Shield. It’s part sunscreen, part serum, all around a winner. It doesn’t smell like sunscreen, it doesn’t feel like sunscreen, I forget that it’s sunscreen. The packaging is very Drunk Elephant to me, but still sleek and cool. Not only does is help prevent sun damage and skin cancer, it works to neutralize harmful free radicals inside your skin and keep pollutants from getting in. Told you- an all around winner.

 

IMG_2560

Lavanila’s Sport Luxe Deodorant ($16), Essie’s Topless & Barefoot ($9)

 

Deodorant and nail polish can be grouped together for body products, right? I think it’s funny how deodorant isn’t a topic people like to discuss, but I think it’s a product that really matters! Long story short, I had been looking for a natural deodorant because the whole aluminum might cause breast cancer thing scares the shit out of me. But also, after reading how aluminum in deodorants work really freaked me out. So I hopped on the hippie train and went researching for a natural deodorant that actually worked. Lavanila’s Sport Luxe Deodorant was the one for me. Thankfully, it was the second product I tried so I didn’t have to waste too much money. What I like about this one over the first one I tried, was that there was no sticky feeling. It felt like an antiperspirant did throughout the day, but it also left my underarms feeling really smooth, super sexy, I know. At the point of purchase, I was worried about this scent. I’m not a vanilla type of girl (snicker at the Fifty Shades reference) or any sugary kind of fragrance, but I thought let’s take a shot. I’m so glad I did because it smells nothing like vanilla, but more florally. This is one product I will 100% buy over and over again. The price tag is worth it for me.

Like the rest of the world, nudes have become a favorite shade of mine. Lipsticks, blushes, and nail polishes. Essie’s Topless and Barefoot shade won an Allure Best of Beauty prize in 2016, so that’s why I bought it. They describe it as a barely there soft beige pink. I’m definitely a fan of the shade and cheeky name.

 

IMG_2561

Supergoop’s Setting Spray with Rosemary ($12), Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara ($9), Shiseido Eyelash Curler ($20), Anastasia Beverly Hills Clear Brow Gel ($22), Sugar Lip Treatment Perfecting Wand ($24), Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray ($31)

 

Last, but certainly not least, makeup. The itty bitty white spray bottle is a travel size Supergoop’s Setting Spray with Rosemary and SPF 50! I brought it with me on a recent visit to California where the sun is always up and your skin is always at risk. Similar to Glossier’s Invisible Shield, this one didn’t have a normal sunscreen smell or finish which is always a success where SPF is concerned. It’s kind of revolutionary to me to have a setting spray and SPF protection all in one. I’m definitely thinking of making a full-size purchase.

Ok, I know what you’re thinking, drugstore mascara? First, hear me out. I’ve read over and over again how there’s little difference between drugstore mascara and the expensive stuff. After reading about how Maybelline’s Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara is the best in the biz, I finally gave it a whirl. Side note, why do all drugstore mascaras have long mouthful names? Yes again, my research was correct. This mascara gives me killer lashes and it doesn’t flake or smudge (waterproof mascaras are usually good about that). My only complaint would be that it’s semi-difficult to get it all off.

I bought Shiseido’s Eyelash Curler because I needed a good eyelash curler and it was one of Ulta’s beauty deals. For the record, I know it’s insane to pay $20 for an eyelash curler, but I also paid $10. But also, sometimes it’s worth it. I rarely pinch my skin and it’s just such a better quality compared to those $5 ones at TJ Maxx.

Again, I went with another splurge when I purchased the Anastasia Beverly Hills Clear Brow Gel whereas I could have bought one of the dupes that work just as well. Something worth mentioning is that while I’m a fan of buying dupe products, there are subtle differences between the two products. This one, for example, has an amazing brush that I doubt a dupe would have in comparison. A clear brow gel is good for people with naturally full brows that just need a little taming, or when you use a brow pencil and need to set them. I use them for the latter and my brows stay put all day!

I rarely write reviews for products on Sephora unless they are truly life-changing. This past winter I battled extremely flaky and chapped lips and nothing seemed to be working. After reading a Refinery 29 article about Sugar Lip Treatment Perfecting Wand, I went ahead and purchased it. There are a few misconceptions about this product that I addressed in my review, but I’ll repeat them. This isn’t a lip product that solves chapped lips, it isn’t meant to be a balm or chapstick, it’s a treatment wand that exfoliates your lips with a combination of its exfoliating brush tip and formula to add hydration. Yes, it’s sticky, yes it absorbs fast, it’s not meant to sit on your lips. This was the only product that saved my lips this winter, and a great tool to use if you’re a matte lipstick girl.

Lastly, Urban Decay’s All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray is one of the best setting sprays I’ve ever used. Ever. On days I do a full face of makeup and go all the way, I need a heavy duty setting spray because I’m one of those bitches who is one and done. The only reapplying I do is with lipstick and that’s only because I eat too much. This spray is weightless, I never feel it on my face and it makes my skin feel like it can breathe despite the concealer, foundation, highlighter, blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, you get the point. While it’s more of a matte spray, I really don’t mind it. The price may seem daunting, but it’s a pretty big bottle that I think is worth the splurge.

All right, I’m finally done and hopefully I don’t go on another spending bender for the sake of my wallet, or hopefully I do, for the sake of another post. Stay beautiful and wear your SPF!

P.S. anyone know of a relatively cheap brow serum that will help them grow a lil? Please send suggestions my way!

Leave a Reply!

