A Case of the Empties

empties

Claps all around for me actually finishing some beauty products to make up for the fact that I purchase more than I can actually use. Something I love to read about is what products beauty experts use and more importantly, which ones they finish. I am no expert, but I decided to write out all of the products I have recently finished.

fullsizerender

There’s a mix of skincare, makeup, and hair products in this edition of the empties. Some are trial sized, some are full sized, some are products I’ve been using for years, most are new products I had to try out for myself.

fullsizerender_1

From left to right: Formula 10.0.6 Deep Down Detox Mask, Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Glycolic Night Serum, Pixi Glow Tonic, Glossier’s The Supers- Super Glow, Super Bounce, Super Pure

Let’s start off with skincare. If you’ve read any of my posts this past year, you know I’ve become a skincare junkie. I’m very much obsessed with having the best skin I can and taking care of it as I get older (insert groan here). More importantly, I’ve come to understand the value of starting off with a good base, your skin. First off, the Formula 10.0.0 Deep Down Detox Mask. I love this mask. I actually purchased it and the Clarifying Be Pure Mud Mask together but finished this one first. And they were both originally presents for my friend, yet I accidentally used it for myself. The more tingle in a mask, the better I say. This mask delivers and more. After using it, my skin is noticeably more clear and just feels so clean.

First off, the Formula 10.0.0 Deep Down Detox Mask. I love this mask. I actually purchased it and the Clarifying Be Pure Mud Mask together but finished this one first. And they were both originally presents for my friend, yet I accidentally used it for myself. The more tingle in a mask, the better I say. This mask delivers and more. After using it, my skin is noticeably more clear and just feels so clean. It definitely gets a 10/10 for results and great price. I already repurchased too!

Next is Drunk Elephant’s T.L.C. Glycolic Night Serum in a trial size. I wanted to test out the serum before forking over $90 for the full-size version. No surprise here, but it worked wonders. I’ve read so many good reviews of this serum and was afraid that it was all hype, but it wasn’t! Like any good skincare product, it smells like cheap alcohol, but my skin has become so much smoother. I read that it makes acne scars faded over time, but I haven’t seen that quite yet. I also purchased the full-size version and I actually love the packaging, it’s quirky and cool, get to Sephora to check it out! 9/10- worth the splurge for sure.

Pixi Glow Tonic is another product I purchased after reading reviews. And if I’m being honest, I already went through one of these bottles and now I’ve finished my second one. I’ve also bought the big bottle from Birchbox using my points, so I’m stocked up. It tingles and stings for the first couple times you use it so be warned. It also doesn’t have the best smell, but I’m so used to it by now. Like the Drunk Elephant Night Serum, it gave my skin the smoothest texture and helps make sure all the makeup and dirt is off my skin at night and gives me a natural glow in the morning. I use it twice a day, but I would just use it as much as you need, once a day, three times a week, you do you. 10/10-obviously, I’ve even gotten my cousin hooked on it!

Last but not least, Glossier’s Supers. I’ve written about these serums so many times, I’m not sure I need to repeat it. The first batch sold out online and they were restocked at the beginning of the month. I’ve finished my first batch and I’m on to my second. I definitely recommend Super Bounce, it’s the star of the trio, but the other two work so well also. I love how you just pick and choose which skin concern you have and you can mix and match. 9/10

 

fullsizerender_2

From left to right: Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water, Benefit Roller Lash mascara, Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner, L’Oreal True Match Lumi Cushion.

 

Makeup, makeup, makeup! I’ve been on Pinterest way too much, Refinery29’s beauty section too much, and Sephora’s site too much.

I was looking for a good makeup primer and found a Smashbox Primer Water and Photo Finish Foundation Primer duo deal at Ulta so I decided to give it a whirl. The Foundation Primer was full-size so I’m still working on it, but the Primer Water was a trial size. I like how easy it is to use, I just spray it all over my face. It’s also great because it can be used as a setting spray too. However, I don’t feel like it works as well as the Foundation Primer at creating an even layer for me to apply makeup on top of. Definitely sticking with the Foundation Primer in the future. 5/10

I have been a sucker for Benefit mascara for years. It started out with They’re Real! mascara that I got in a Birchbox maybe four years ago. On a whim, I bought Roller Lash instead and I love the results. While I always have They’re Real in my makeup bag, Roller Lash has become my new favorite. They’re Real is great for no makeup days or when you just need a little curl. Roller Lash is for the voluminous days or when you need a little oomph. I think I’m on my third one so far and I have no plans on stopping. 8/10- a little pricey for a tube of mascara considering how often you need to repurchase.

Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion has been a staple of mine for a couple years now too. I have super oily lids so my eyeliner never stays put. I don’t wear eyeshadow often, unless it’s a special occasion, so I love that this primer goes on nude and just fades away. Nothing else keeps my eyeliner put like this. I’ve even tried the Elf version, but returned to this bad boy. My Nordstrom Rack also carries it so I stock up for a discounted price! 10/10- a little tube lasts forever!

Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner in Black Brown is one thing I always have, the one thing I will always use. While I’m not afraid to swap out makeup products, I only use two eyeliners and this is one of them. The color is perfect for me because it’s natural enough for the no makeup days and I literally wear it every day. I go through a stick of eyeliner a month because you will never catch me out of the house without it on. While I do love black eyeliner, I typically reserve it for special occasions when I want a more bold look. Seriously, this is better than any luxury eyeliner stick I’ve ever tried. I also love that I don’t need to sharpen in, bless. 10/10

L’Oreal True Match Lumi Cushion is awesome. I almost splurged on the Laneige version, until I saw this one and gave it a try. While I loved how it gave me full coverage, I went through this product awful quick. It’s at a great price of under $20, but I don’t particularly think it’s worth it when I finish it after a month. That’s even with me not using it every day. Also, I understand the whole Lumi line that L’Oreal has, but I feel like this one had a little too much glow in it. Currently trying the Maybelline version, so stay tuned for that review. 4/10

fullsizerender_3

I do nothing to my hair, I don’t even brush it (I know I should, but I don’t). My hair routine consists of leave-in conditioner spray and hair oil. When I do style my hair, e.g. curling, I use this spray always. If my hair is a little flat or needs some texture, I use this. This is probably my favorite of the Ouai line and I’m not alone. It seems to always sell out in Sephora stores when I pop in. Nothing has ever made my curls stay the next day like this product. It has the perfect amount of grit to hold a curl and is strong enough to make the curls last the next day. All I need to do is spray it all over my hair before curling and then after curling. I break up the curls afterward and voila! 10/10- seriously try this product.

And there you have it! Now that I’ve cleared out my beauty cabinet, I think it’s time for more shopping, non? Just kidding, it’s time to save. What are some products you finished up? Any that you swear by? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply!

