Stop Hating on New Year’s Resolutions

new-years-resolutions

I say this over and over again. Don’t hate on New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve been writing about resolutions for years and years because I really truly believe in them. They’re a great way to bring positive changes into your life in a constructive way. I know resolutions sound cliche, but I wholeheartedly believe in them. Maybe it’s because I’m a goal-oriented person and work best under deadline with a clean plan ready for me, but I never feel ready for the new year without a good list of resolutions.

So let’s get down to it. Just make the resolutions.

I literally say this every year, no matter what publication I’m writing for. Make the damn resolutions, make them specific, and make them fun. I’ve had resolutions like, “Rock the updo more,” “Do yoga 3-5 times a week,” “Take the stairs as often as possible,” and “Do 3 Sudoku puzzles a day.” Blah, blah, don’t just say exercise more, actually set a goal. Will you do yoga? Will you go to the gym? How many miles do you want to run a week? Set yourself some fun resolutions as well. Want to mix things up? Watch makeup tutorials to learn new tricks to change up your makeup routine, watch cooking shows to learn how to cook, read the news everyday or every few days to keep up with current events. Find a way to specify what you want to achieve and what resolutions to set.

Don’t fret, don’t give up. You can set New Year’s Resolutions easily. Just think of what you want to accomplish and then figure out how to get there.

Here are my 2017 New Year’s Resolutions:

  • Write one thing every week
  • Cook dinner from scratch at least once a week
  • Go out more and meet new people
  • Put away $10 each week
  • Spa Day once a week (whether it’s a mani, face mask, or bath)
  • Read a book every two weeks

Here’s hoping 2017 sucks less than 2016 (but for real, cross your fingers I don’t lose it).

Leave a Reply!

