Banish Winter Skin Before It Begins

Do I even need to describe what winter does to my skin? Dry, patchy, or even worse, cracked. Your skin feels parched all the time and you don’t even know what to do. As we approach winter and the air gets colder and the wind gets stronger, it’s time to prepare people.

In addition to water, which I feel has made a difference in my skin, these skin products will save my life this winter and the transition until then. I’ve tried to list a mix of cheap and splurge, but trust me, the splurges are worth it.

Most of these products will be strictly for your face, but I have thrown in two lip products because your lips are on your face, right? I don’t have to remind you about gross winter lips cause you already know.

 

embryolisse

Embryolisse: Lait-Crème Concentré ($28) Target

 

I’ve started to use this moisturizer after reading about it for months and months and debating on whether or not I should add a new cream to my lineup. Apparently, it’s a staple for makeup artists as the perfect skin primer and base before any makeup application. Lately, I’ve been using mine as a night moisturizer because it is really thick. I happen to love the smell because it’s light and clean. Despite its thick texture, it does sink into your skin fairly fast. There is a slight oily residue leftover, but I just wash it right off in the morning.

 

glossier-super

Glossier: Super Bounce ($28) Glossier.com

 

I’ve written about the Glossier’s “The Supers” before, but this one, in particular, is super potent. Super Bounce contains hyaluronic acid and vitamin B5 serum aka so much moisture your skin will literally bounce. I’ve been so careful not to use too much of it too soon because I know this will be key in my winter skincare routine. It works great at night and in the morning because it’s so light that it sinks right into your skin.

 

lush-coffee

Lush: Cup O’ Coffee Face and Body Mask ($10.95-$19.95) Lush

 

Scrubs are perfect for supple, smooth skin. Whether you use them during the summer to keep your skin polished, after winter to say goodbye to dead winter skin, or during the winter to preserve your skin, this one is one of my favorites. The magic of coffee as a scrub is that the caffeine will energize your skin to brighten it, but it’s also a great natural exfoliant. The key to using a scrub, especially during the winter, is to moisturize immediately afterward. If not, the cold air will dry up your new soft and moisturized skin instantly by tightening it up. I use this mask on my face and my body, but at the most once a week. Over-exfoliating is a thing, people.

 

drunk-elephant

Drunk Elephant: Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil ($72) Sephora

 

Okay, maybe I haven’t exactly splurged on this item yet, I wanted to test it out before committing to the $72 price tag! Okay, I also might have only used it once, so far, but I already know I’m going to be using it all the time. First off, no matter what your skin type is, facial oil works for you. Applying a light layer at night won’t clog your pores up, just be sure to wash the excess off in the morning. After using this facial oil once, the next morning my skin was literally so soft, I can’t even figure out how to describe the level of moisture it was at. Buy this, seriously. Also, the T.L.C. Framboos Glycolic Night Serum is bomb too.

 

lancome

Lancome: Énergie De Vie Nuit ($65) Lancome

 

So I bought this night cream/mask over the summer based on a recommendation from the Lancome sales associate. I was desperate for a new night cream and I had a coupon. I’m not ashamed. I used this mask over the summer as a night time cream and woke up with butter-soft skin, I swear. Ever since I started using it, I’ve referenced the texture of my skin as baby butt soft many times (no shame from me, ever). While I have put it on the back burner, for the Embryolisse cream, I’m sure I’ll be picking it up again soon.

 

glossier-moon-mask

Glossier: Moisturizing Moon Mask ($22) Glossier.com

 

I’m Glossier obsessed, this shouldn’t be surprising news. The moisturizing moon mask has mixed reviews, but I’d like to testify on its behalf. The thick cream base is honestly perfect for winter skin. After letting it set in for 20 or so minute, you wash off the excess. It’s like a moisturizer, seriously. I read some users say it clogged their pores, but it didn’t do so to me, everyone has different skin after all. My tip/Glossier’s tip that they literally put right on the pot, use the Mega Greens Galaxy Pack first and then the Moisturizing Moon Mask second, your skin will glow and be soft, and be all you could have ever dreamed of.

Last, but certainly not least, two of my favorite lip products, ever.

 

rosebud-salve

Smith’s Rosebud Salve ($6) Sephora

 

Beyoncé uses this product, enough said. Just kidding. A lot of celebrities have cited this salve as the savior of all dry skin. Anne Hathaway has said she uses it on dry patches. I use it for everything. When my lips are near extinction, I reach for this every time, guaranteed. I love using it when I get a cold under my nose where it’s red and dry, ugh gross, from blowing my nose too much. Slap it on at night before you sleep and you wake up with all the dryness gone! A little bit goes a long way for this product, I’ve been using the same tin for a little over a year and I’ve still got my ways to go. Buy this. Now. The tin version, not the tube, gross.

 

nuxe

Nuxe-Rêve de Miel Lip Balm ($16) Target

 

I bought this little beauty during the summer too, what can I say? Ma petite chérie is so moisturizing and it smells delicious. I use it every night before bed, no matter what the season is to wake up to fluffy pillows that I like to call my lips. Side note: Nuxe also makes an awesome body oil that has great reviews (I’m too scared to try body oil, but give me a couple months, I’ll give in-I always do).

Something I should add in this lil section is that lip scrubs are also great for the winter. They shed dead skin and leave your lips ready for the perfect matte pout. If you rock the matte lip often and have never used a lip scrub before, get ready for your life to change. You can buy a lip scrub from anywhere (Lush makes a great natural one and Sephora obviously has so many options), but I think the easiest, cheapest, and best thing to do is just make your own. I guarantee you have the ingredients at home already and it’s so simple to make.

Mix a tablespoon of brown sugar with equal parts honey or olive oil. Once combined, rub it gently onto your lips, vigorously enough to scrub away the dead skin and then let it sit for your one minute. Wipe away with a damp cloth and immediately apply lip balm. And voila! Store it in a sealable container or reuse an old lip balm pot for later! Do this about one a week or so.

And there you have it, winter skin? A thing of the past. What are some of your favorite skin products to battle winter skin? Let me know!

Leave a Reply!

