The Importance of Having a Thick Skin

Today I wanted to bring something up that I’ve been battling my entire life. I have a thick exterior, I can take hits and rejection 99% of the time. Maybe it’s not the healthiest, but I’ve learned that not everything is rainbows and unicorns. Not everything will work out the way you want it to. I call myself a realist, you can choose pessimist if you want. In this day and age of bullying, your bullies can be halfway across the world, they might not even know who you are. Bullies suck, I think everyone can agree on that. But the rejection that usually hurts the most? Job or internship rejection.

I’m used to being chewed up, spit out, and dumped by dudes, friends, etc. I’m used to not getting exactly what I want, just because I want it. I’ve submitted hundreds, maybe I’m even close to thousands of internship and job applications. I’ve had six internships and countless positions, all that I had to apply for. Something I’m proud of is my interview streak. I really feel like I’m bragging, but honestly, I’m proud of it. Every single interview that I’ve gotten to the final interview for, or if I’ve interviewed in person, I’ve received an offer. It’s an amazing thing for me to say, and I feel so accomplished being able to say it. Do not fret my friend, I am used to rejection too. I’ve gotten rejected from internships or jobs after just submitting my application. My first adult job interview, I was rejected.

With every rejection, I try not to let it bother me. Why? Because if I didn’t get it, it’s because it wasn’t the right fit for me. Remind yourself that there’s a perfect job for you out there somewhere. It may take some time for you to get there and you may have to work at a few jobs that don’t fit quite right until you do get there. Having a thick skin in the job market is essential. Remember, you may be a big fish in a small pond now, but getting to that bigger pond and being the smaller fish takes a leap of faith and a whole lot of hard work.

Take the necessary steps to making yourself an ideal candidate. Work extra hours, take side-gigs, build your portfolio and resume up to be the strongest it can be. Take extra classes if you have to. Everything is worth it in the end. You have to face rejection before you can succeed, believe me. There is no way to avoid rejection, all kinds of rejection, you just have to tough it out unfortunately. When you’re faced with hard times, remember to take care of yourself first.

Keep your skin thick, you’ll need it.

Leave a Reply!

