These are a Few of my Favorite Things

FullSizeRender

This year I’ve been getting into real beauty products. Real meaning they cost more than $5 and last longer than drug store brands. As a result of many “treat yo’self” days and splurges and sales, what you have here is the best of the best, my personal favorites.

I think it’s so important not only to splurge a little, but to get items that will last long and will be worth their price. There’s no point in spending over $50 for a product that has the same results as a $12 version. With that being said, some drugstore brands are better than their expensive counterparts. I use plenty of drugstore brands that I prefer over higher end products, and believe me I’ve shopped around. The products I’ve shown are a mix of splurge and well-priced buys (ok, and 1 steal). 

 

FullSizeRender (1)

Ouai Haircare: Wave Spray ($26) and Texturing Hair Spray ($26)

I’m Ouai obsessed with celebrity hairstylist Jen Atkin’s hair products. I’ve been contemplating hopping on the Ouai train for a while, but I feared the usual celebrity created products that don’t deliver results. Boy oh boy, Ouai is nothing like that. I love, love, love these two products. Not only do they smell *amazing* but they cost nothing too! Seriously, I consider less than $50 for hair products a steal and so should you. Finding good hair products that work for you is difficult enough, but finding ones that don’t cost an arm and a leg? Priceless. I haven’t tried anything else from the line yet, but I love how the texture spray is “like dry shampoo and hairspray had a baby.” Be careful with how much you spray, it gets a little crunchy depending on how you much you spray. I haven’t tried it with damp hair yet, but it’s great on dry hair for some added volume. Need a lift? Spray.

Now let me talk about this magical wave spray. I’ve tried sooooooo many wave sprays in the past. Salt sprays, non-salt sprays, everything. Right after I sprayed, waves were forming. I didn’t even scrunch yet. It’s magical I swear. The waves are instantaneous basically, and are the prettiest waves you could get from a bottle. I didn’t have to use a curling wand, straightener, nothing. Again, this was only tried on dry hair so I can only imagine it gets better with damp hair. It’s seriously some kind of witchcraft that both products work perfectly on dry hair. Now that my friend is rare, especially with wave spray.

 

FullSizeRender (2)

Tarte LipSurgence Matte Lip Tint in Hope ($24)

 

I have been in love with this matte tint forever. I’ve probably been using this same tube for about 2 years, it goes a long way! It’s a pretty pink plus nude that looks natural but also gives you a little color. It’s perfect for daily wear or if you need some light color on a night out. This lip tint is also so easy to apply. It doesn’t take multiple attempts or a plethora of tissues to correct. The only slightly bad part is that if your lips are dry or not smooth, the color shows. My tip is to use a lip scrub weekly or bi-weekly. Most matte lipsticks or tints do this, so it’s a common problem.

 

FullSizeRender (3)

Glossier Mint Balm Dotcom ($12)

 

I honestly can’t rave about Glossier enough. I’m beyond obsessed, I can’t stop ordering or using their products because they’re that good. So far, I own 6 Glossier products, but I don’t plan on stopping there. I use their Milky Jelly facewash, 4 different balm dotcom tints/flavors, and Generation G in cake. I love, love, love all of the balm dotcoms. They work so well on your lips and basically any part of your body that is dry or needs a little loving. My favorite one is the mint flavor. As promised, it has menthol that gives the perfect amount of tingle and the mint flavor/scent isn’t too powerful. If you buy anything from this post, I urge you to buy balm dotcom. Unlike other balms you don’t need to constantly reapply and it doesn’t completely disappear when you can’t feel it anymore. Your lips feel hydrated and full. BUY THIS.

 

FullSizeRender (6)

Freeman Beauty Avocado & Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask ($4)

 

This face mask is the definition of a steal. Not only is it an Allure beauty winner, it costs less than $5. This is my go-to mask on a weekly basis, it keeps my skin nourished and fresh feeling. Seriously, it’s less than $5 and isn’t harsh on your skin. You can use it often and you will continue to get results.

FullSizeRender (7)

I have lusted after Jo Malone fragrance for a long, long time. Ever since I was 10, at least. My aunt used to take me to Saks Fifth Avenue (swoon) with her as she shopped around and I used to love the Jo Malone section. What an upbringing right? Now you see where I get it from. I got this sweet little babe for my birthday and I’m in love with the scent. I can’t exactly describe my fragrance type but it’s a mix of sweet with classic with something chic. I use Tory Burch and Nest Fragrance in Indigo as well. But I love, love love how fresh this fragrance is, well all Jo Malone fragrances are. This one is a bit sweet from the nectarine but isn’t overpowering.

 

FullSizeRender (4)

Butter London Nail Lacquer in “Sunnies” ($15)

 

I’ll be honest, I bought this pretty shade because one of my trendy DCFW friends painted her nails with a similar color recently and this shade by butter was the closest I could find. It’s called “Sunnies” for a reason obviously, it’s a bright orange, yet pale as well. I’m unfortunately not tan enough them currently, but I’m beyond in love with this color. So much that I’m wearing it on my fingers and toes. I can’t remember the last time I painted my toes and fingers the same color (probably middle school TBH), let alone painted my nails a color besides nude or clear pink. Here’s a tip (from the sales associate at ULTA): stick the polish in the fridge for about 5 minutes to make it a little thicker so the color is more vibrant. Especially for all bright butter colors. It did the trick! Butter London’s website calls this color a “soft peach creme.” I know $15 is a little steep for a tiny bottle of nail polish, but this is what we call a splurge, my friend.

That’s all for now folks! The chocolate bar was there for fun, but it’s also my fave from Trader Joe’s (PB&J in a chocolate bar, SO GOOD). Try some of these products, or let me know what your favorites are! I’m *always* down to try some new products for sure. Remember to treat yo’self, you deserve it!

 

Leave a Reply!

