The Loves of My Life: These NYFW Designers

new_york_city_madness_wallpaper_hd-wide-copy

Let’s get honest here, NYFW is my favorite, favorite, favorite, time of the year. Spring, Fall/Winter, I don’t care what season it is. I’d love to be in New York during the shows, let alone attend an actual show or showcase. Fashion Week is my favorite art exhibit, these magical creatures (models) strut their stuff in works of art. (Have you seen some of these pieces, they’re literally hand assembled: ART). Let me settle down now and show you some looks by my favorite designers, the ones I set alarms for so I could watch live streams of their shows, that’s not even an exaggeration. Shoutout to the official NYFW app for making it happen.

adam selman

Adam Selman

What can I say about you, kind sir? Sexually-charged, yes. Bold metallics (red, of course), stripes, AND you were inspired by “Making a Murderer?” Obviously, your line was a winner to me. Look at those textures, those details, how could I not be obsessed? That low v-neckline oozes sex, but throw on a grandma ribbed cardigan AND that lace choker? Also, a big fan of the hair & makeup looks the models rocked. Waves and lots of black eyeliner= my go-to.

Jay Godfrey

Sir, you appealed to the feminine side in me that adores baby pink, delicate materials, and flared skirts. Wow, can we please talk about that first look? Those jewels give the look elegance and class, as if it needs anymore. Plus the contrast in the materials, allows the color to look perfectly paired, the correct way to work monochromatic looks. And that green caped jumpsuit? Can we get that on Emma Stone, stat? The caped look is my new superhero outfit, Halloween, here I come. Many designers showcased a caped jumpsuit, so stay tuned for that in the fall and winter.

Altuzzara

A common theme this year: first looks were full of bright colors and second looks were back to the dark colors of fall and winter. Altuzzara followed this theme, however, his looks mixed patterns, materials, colors, textures, he’s a pairings genius, basically. Let’s take this first look, for example. I’m not a full boho gypsy, but I can appreciate the occasional dress. This look, however, needs to be mine. Who would have thought to pair the two together? The colors play together perfectly and with the knee-highs and silver belt? Perfection. Next order of business, I need a place to wear that second look to because I must wear it. A statement top such as this sheer black blouse with silver accents paired with black trousers and boots: not as ordinary as it sounds.

Babyghost

This had been my first time hearing of designer duo Babyghost, so I was pleasantly surprised at the layering and deconstructing they had done for each look. They explained that their collection was comprised of their best selling pieces of past seasons simply reworked. Talk about creativity. I love the casual yet freeing look the first model wears. An oversized cardigan, graphic tee, and chunky boots might as well be my uniform, so it was refreshing to see a similar look on the runway, especially paired with those irradescinet lilac pants. And that sheer sequin piece? I guess we can officially say that I have a thing for sheer sequined tops. Bring on fall.

Public School

I can’t explain why, but I’m the biggest fan of this hot pink vest. I have never owned one in my life and never thought I would want to, but this entire look has me convinced and scouring the Internet for my very own. That color combination, though. And next up, I love leather jackets and black boots, enough said. Bravo, Public School.

Diane von Furstenberg

DVF has to one of favorite designers ever, top 5 definitely. She creates the most playful prints in the best colors, and let’s not forget her infamous wrap dresses (still need one, HMU). This collection, obviously, was no different. I know I selected only dresses as my examples, but lets note the differences between them. The first look, I would rock it in the office, but probably with a pair of heels instead of those to-die-for knee high boots. I love the slit that shows a bit of leg. The second look reminds me of Coachella, even though I’ve never been. The midsection cut-outs and flared skirt ooze free-spirit. I love the details in the dress, the colored floral stripes in the skirt and bordering the cut-outs.

Kate Spade

I really couldn’t pick two looks. Asking me to pick two would be rude, mean, and impossible. My love of Kate Spade is endless. I’m on their website on a weekly basis, I gush over their shoes, purses, wallets, office supplies, everything they create on a daily basis. Not sorry at all. First let’s talk about those shoes. Don’t get me wrong, I love the shoes every season, but let’s just say me and heels aren’t friends, as much as I’d like to wear their pretty bowed slingbacks each season. These loafers are my cup of tea, especially the first and last pairs. I love the floral pop of color the boots add to that outfit. That entire outfit though is me. The third outfit is my dream outfit when I’m perched in my glass office #GIRLBOSS style. Doesn’t it just command the attention of the room? Plus that model has serious sass, and I dig it. And that last outfit, how could I not pick one of the prettier colorful looks from the line?

Rag & Bone

Another great member of my top 5, Rag & Bone deliver my dream sh*t stomping boots each season. This designer oozes menswear, street-style, cool-badassery, so how could I not love them? First look: loving the muted colors. Second look: it’s all black featuring a tough leather jacket and kickin’ boots, enough said.

Alright, I’m done gushing over my favorite designers and looks from NYFW Fall/Winter 16. Experiencing major FOMO currently, so it’s about time to stop. One day I will be at every single show, one day. NYFW, get ready for me.

In other news, it’s time to blow my entire bank account on all of these outfits.

Happy Fashion Month!

emily

 

Leave a Reply!

