The End of an Era (or 2 Years)

After a little over two years, my time at Gap, Inc. has come to an end. Like most college students, I got a retail job for some extra cash and to keep myself busy during the summer. Two years later, I was promoted to visuals associate and treated as a manager by the entire staff and learned more than I could have ever thought. I’m a little sad to see these two years end, but I’m more excited for my future than ever.

The summer after my freshman year of college, I opted not to do an internship and applied for a sales associate job at Gap. It was mostly boring and I did little tasks that took little effort. But I found myself loving the people that I worked with. They were so funny and made me feel so welcome, what college student doesn’t love that? The staff was the reason I decided to return during my winter break. I continued as a seasonal employee for another half year before getting into the visual work and joining the visuals team. The visuals team is in charge of building the walls, dressing the mannequins, and styling the entire store. I loved being on the visuals team. It allowed me to be creative, work with my hands, learn new skills, and join a real team. Those people are great. My friends from the store I worked at are because of the visuals team.

Long story short, my two years at Gap, Inc. are coming to an end because of time. Retail has its ups and downs (holler at all my other retail workers, you keep going!), and it wasn’t going to be my future. I could have stayed with the company until I graduated college or found a real job after graduation, but I decided to rip the bandaid off and leave a little earlier than planned. Why you ask? Because of Tote Magazine.

Tote Logotype V2-03

 

Tote Magazine is an online women’s magazine designed for college women, high school young women, and post grads. Tote wants to highlight real women, show off all the great work they do. They want to arm young women with the skills to enter the workforce and become a force to be reckoned with. Tote was founded by Shelby Newsome, someone I met at Towson when we were both a part of Her Campus Towson. I joined Tote at first as a contributor to the website and online magazine. This past spring I had to the opportunity to join the staff as the Social Media Manager and I am loving every single second of it. This is a project I am so passionate about, I want to invest everything I have into it. I want to show off my skills, learn new ones, be a part of a team, and make a real difference, a difference that Tote Magazine will make one day soon.

My choice to leave Gap wasn’t because I want my weekends free to go out or because I was tired of working, it was because I found something I truly enjoy doing, something that makes me happy to work. Tote Magazine is such an amazing project that I know will take off soon. Whether I’m a part of the staff when it becomes the best of the best, or I just help to get it to where it deserves, I don’t really care. I want to do everything in my power to help Shelby and #TeamTote succeed.

Tote_Countdown_Facebook Cover_02

Tote Magazine’s launch is on September 1st. In addition to a new September Issue, Tote will also have new content posted to the redesigned site. It’s such an exciting time for us as a team, we are so ready and excited to show everyone what we’ve been working on.

If you’re a high school, college, or post grad young woman doing something amazing, we want to feature you. If you’re interested in writing, contact me, we’re always looking for contributors! If you’re looking for an internship, we’re looking for interns all the time! I can be contacted at emily@totemag.com if you have a question or want to know more about Tote!

xxx,

emily

Leave a Reply!

