Winter Reads

Books are my favorite thing in the world. I love the language, plot, worlds I get to explore from reading them. It’s been tough, but I haven’t been reading as much as I wanted to lately. School has been busy, I’ve had to read so many different texts for my classes, which has been great, but I’m excited for this winter reading list I’ve put together for my break.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0169.jpg
First on my list is Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. Now that I’m an English major, I want to explore classic writers. So of course I have to start with a great classic female writer.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0170.jpg
Next is another Austen novel, Pride and Prejudice. More classics, so I can make great literary references all the time

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0171.jpg
I’ve always heard about William Faulkner and I found The Sound and The Fury at a used bookstore. Print books are greater than digital, and I love the smell and feel of old books so, how could I not?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0172.jpg
I found another used Austen book, Northanger Abbey. I haven’t heard about this title, but it’s Austen.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0173.jpg
This collection of essays is a book I bought a few months ago. The story of Marina Keegan is so touching. I have an appreciation for young writers, especially those that weren’t able to live their dreams. I’m probably most excited to read this book.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0174.jpg
I’ve been meaning to read Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five for a while. If I like this book enough, I may read the others too.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0175.jpg
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov is a book I’ve heard about in multiple classes. At one point, it was a banned novel, which intrigued me even more.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0176.jpg
L.A. Woman by Carly Yardley was another book I found at s used bookstore. The description was interesting so I had to buy it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0177.jpg
I’ve read one of Steve Martin’s books before and I really enjoy the way he approaches his characters. Shopgirl was another book I found at a used bookstore and a good novella is invaluable.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/60872718/files/2014/12/img_0178.jpg
J.D. Salinger is a genius. Catcher in the Rye was a banned book before and I enjoyed reading it for school. This book was in perfect condition at the used bookstore so I went for it.

This is a random selection of books, I know, but I need some variety in my life. There are so many books published today, I want to read as many as I can, new or old. I’m trying to expand my knowledge and wealth of books read.

What are some of your favorite books, or ones you want to read? I’d love suggestions!

Happy Winter!

xxx

emily

One thought on “Winter Reads

Leave a Reply!

