My Sweet Heaven, Wrapped in a Café

Nothing warms my heart and fulfills my dreams more than a beautiful local café. They are my favorite parts of cities because they tell their own story. I love the hidden gems that few know about because then I am able to call it my own.

I recently found a safe haven of my own in a local café in Towson, Maryland. It’s walking distance from the University, but few know about it. Cunningham’s Café & Bakery has a beautiful, homey atmosphere with a breakfast, lunch, coffee, and pastries offered at all times of the day. While I haven’t tried everything yet, I also haven’t tried the same thing twice, maybe once I sample everything on the menu. Let me also inform you that I’ve been there 6 times in the span of 2 and a half weeks.

First, let me paint you a picture of it’s setting. It’s a quaint, quiet café with warm wood tables. The ceiling is made of panels that include coffee bean bags, giving the café a rustic feeling. There is outdoor and indoor seating, I’ve done both. Sit outside if the weather suits you. The café doesn’t sit in the middle of traffic so it’s quiet outside also. It’s located in a quiet part of Towson, although it does sit across from the mall. Sitting inside reminds me of a rainy day because it gives off such a warm feeling. No matter where you sit, you’re guaranteed to have a good time, with company or without.

Bagby Breakfast Sandwich

Bagby Breakfast Sandwich: choice of bacon, sausage, ham, or scrapple fried egg, cheddar, biscuit.

French Toast

French Toast: homemade brioche, maple syrup.

Breakfast is probably one of my favorite meals of the day. I can eat it at any time of the day, I will never have my fill. My first breakfast item I tried was the french toast. It’s made with their homemade brioche bread, which is fluffy and delicate. The entire entree was simple, but executed perfectly. I couldn’t have asked for anything else, it was flawless. My second breakfast item was the Bagby breakfast sandwich. I got mine with turkey sausage and egg. Before I can even share how perfect the sandwich tasted all together, I need to emphasize how good the bread was. The bread was so good, I don’t think I could replicate it or any other Iron, world class chef could. It was cheesey, flakey, and had a cornbread texture to it. I literally could eat that bread as a side to every meal, hell I could eat it as a meal itself. As a sandwich, it was warm and a perfect start to my day. I can’t wait to try their quiches and omelettes, they have daily specials for them.

Roasted Turkey with Bacon:  tomato jam, baby lettuce, barbeque mayo, multigrain.

Roasted Turkey with Bacon: tomato jam, baby lettuce, barbeque mayo, multigrain.

Pasture Raised Chicken Salad: lemon herb aoili, multigrain.

Pasture Raised Chicken Salad: lemon herb aioli, multigrain.

I’m a big fan of light lunches. It’s not that I don’t make time for lunch, but I feel like it is a bridge meal that can be short since it does lay in the middle of the day. Overeating during lunch causes a huge food coma in the afternoon around 2 p.m., which leads to ineffective time wasting. I tried these 2 cold sandwich entrees, which may sound simple, but they were far from it. The roasted turkey with bacon sandwich can be replicated, but the tomato jam and barbeque mayo made it unique. I’m not a huge tomato fan, but I didn’t even taste tomato to a point. All of the elements worked perfectly together. The second sandwich was a pasture raised chicken salad sandwich. The chicken was so moist, it wasn’t overpowered at all by the mayo or other ingredients. The bread was toasted which served as a great contrast to the soft chicken salad. I’m looking forward to trying some salads and soups for lunch next!

In addition to these entrees, I’ve tried some pastries and drinks from Cunningham’s too! I’ve tried 2 of their macaron flavors: earl grey and a malted one. They were surprisingly good. I’m often picky about my macarons because I like the select places that I do buy them from, but I want to try their other flavors too! My friend had their brown bottom cupcakes, which was really good too. Their peach iced tea is subtly, but perfectly peachy. It’s obvious that it’s brewed tea with peach infused, not just a powder mix.

The star of the show, my go-to item, and my hands-down favorite item at Cunningham’s Café and Bakery is their cold brew coffee. I know what you’re thinking, iced coffee out of everything on their menu is her favorite? Iced coffee has to be made in a special way to truly be iced coffee. It has to be cold brewed, not hot brewed to bring out the true, deep flavors. As snotty as that sounds, there is a real difference, I can taste it. Cunningham’s makes the most perfect cold brew coffee I’ve ever had. It comes out to almost $4 for a small, but to me it’s worth it. I pair their cold crew coffee with everything I order because I cannot live without it.

Venture to Cunningham’s or go find your own local café! They’re fun and full of character. You never know how often you’ll return, what great food you’ll eat, or what work you could accomplish their. Share some of your favorite cafés with my in the comments section and I’ll share more as I find them!

xxx,

emily

One thought on “My Sweet Heaven, Wrapped in a Café

Leave a Reply!

