NYC Adventure

Hi all!

Sorry it’s been a while. I’ve been battling projects, assignments, a social life, and midterms before finally settling into Spring Break. That’s no excuse since I’ve been seriously slacking on this blog. I don’t have a topic to share this week, but instead a little fun! I went to New York City on Friday for a day trip and had a blast. Below are some pictures and tidbits I want to share with you!

We drove first by the infamous New Yorker Building, so of course I had to take a picture.

IMG_2888

The first place we visited was Times Square.

The billboards are so bright and vibrant, they're a great representation of our generation!

The infamous symbol of Times Square behind the red stairs!

The bright graphics of the billboard in Times Square literally light up the block. The vivid colors and energy represent our generation perfectly. Some were animated, others were just an image, regardless they were fun and great to view!

I've been analyzing advertisements like crazy lately, and I LOVED the display the H&M store in Times Square had.

I’ve been analyzing advertisements like crazy lately, and I LOVED the display the H&M store in Times Square had.

This semester I’m taking a marketing class so I can’t stop analysing advertisements everywhere I turn (which is almost everywhere believe it or not). The platform H&M in Times Square was able to create was beautiful. It was a larger scale, apt for its setting, and was a great representation of its brand and the display. I love how the bottom two were just images and the large center image was a video and showed the models walking down the runway in their outfits. It was a well done multi-dimensional advertisement.

After Times Square, we visited Rockefellar!

IMG_2894The ice rink is still out, but they were taking a zamboni break so I couldn’t take any lively pictures of the center.

After visiting Rockefellar, we walked around A LOT and passed by some cool places I just wanted to photograph.

The New York Public Library was a pretty structure. Lots of people were taking pictures in front of it.

The New York Public Library had great architecture. Lots of people were taking pictures in front of it.

IMG_2897

This is the original Macy’s Department store. It was neat to see because you can see the history by just looking from across the street.

IMG_2934

BizLeAwIAAA9CkT

My yummy petit macarons. The pink one is rose flavored and the green one is anise and mint flavored.

Ladurée was my must see for the trip. The bakery originated in Paris, France, but the opened up shop in Madison. We had to wait in a little bit of a line for macaroons, nothing compared to other lines in the heart of the city. They were worth it, trust me.

Next we went to Central Park. I haven’t been there for years and it was peaceful to get to walk around a settled down area.

IMG_2913

More pretty architecture

More pretty architecture.

Bethesda Terrace

Bethesda Terrace

I loved the ceiling in Bethesda Terrace

I loved the ceiling in Bethesda Terrace

With the light, the arches looked incredible.

With the light, the arches looked incredible.

The scene was picturesque, how could I not?

The scene was picturesque, how could I not?

Once we went through parts of the park, we made our way back to the Times Square-Penn Station area so we could catch our bus.

IMG_2927

Each flavor of pie had a different expression drawn on.

One of my friends from school told me to stop at Pie Face, a small little Pie shop that serves savory and sweet hand pies (they also had mini pies). There are 3 locations in the city. Pie Face originates from Australia, so it was great to have a little something something on this trip.

1924531_10153845965050136_493770298_n

Selfies with our pies. (It was Pi day, so we had to)

NYC is one of my favorite places in the world. I’ll always return to this city because it holds a special place in my heart. To me, New York City is the city of dreams. Its cliche, but if you have a dream, you have a place in this city. One day I hope to live out my dreams in this city too.

This was my spring break adventure, a hectic, amazing day in a hectic, amazing city.

Leave a Reply!

