Personal Identity

I’ve been battling this topic for a few weeks now in several classes but also on my own. At this point in my life, I’ve been trying to figure out who I am, what I want from life, what my beliefs are, and who I want to be. Personal identity is something that isn’t defined by a single word or statement.

A lot of college is about discovering who you are and learning new things that you never knew before. There is so much out there to learn that high school doesn’t even begin to teach you. In my past, I identified in the middle. I was lost in a way in high school, I found my place in yearbook. I became a person with drive. I had such a view of the world where I constantly search for the underlying meaning behind everything. I didn’t have many views of the world aside from what has been taught to me through public school. I didn’t see the world in one tone because my parents are so diverse. When I think back to how I saw life in high school compared to how I see it now, it amazes me.

College is such a colorful influence on my life. Some courses I’ve taken have transformed how I will forever see the world. They’ve installed passion in topics I barely thought about. The experiences I’ve signed up for and fallen into have created new worlds for me. The amount of change that has occurred, but also the part of me that I never knew existed that has blossomed, thrills me.

My passion for gender equality has grown exponentially. This is a subject that I will probably fight for, for a very long time. I have my Women Studies course to thank for that, which I took just for a core. It’s crazy to think how some believe that there is gender equality, because there really isn’t. Yes women have achieved great feats, but there is still much to do.

Things that have occurred in my life have shaped who I have become without a doubt. I can say that easily. As I’ve grown, I’ve learned about how to handle pain, rejection, and any kind of hurt. I’ve grown a thicker skin and I’ve learned that people have opinions, but I also have my own. No one person will ever be able to think or believe the same things.

So much of my personal identity has formed in college. It will continue to grow also, I’m not sure when it will ever stop. My dreams have grown, taken shape, and become plans. My life will forever be changing as I continue to learn, gain experiences, and take life how it presents itself.

Think hard about who you are. That’s all I want. I want you to think really hard about who you are and what you want to be. Think about the past, present, and future and what sticks out to you. What are you interested in? What do you want to learn more about? Take a class about something you’ve never learned before. Go for a big internship that may be out of your reach. Your personal identity is something that will continue to evolve for your whole life.

xxx

emily

Leave a Reply!

